A review of the DA Official Update for 7th Edition version 1.0
released 19 December 2015

24 December 2015 | 7th Edition

DA FAQ 2015 7th edition v1.0

So after a six months wait for a credible FAQ to clear up a few issues within the 7th Edition DA Codex, something finally arrives.

The problem is, our expectations were great. But what has been delivered isn't.

Down to small the print

There are no amendments, only 1 item in the Errata section, and nothing clarified FAQ section.

I have classified these updates into four broad types:

Typo addition
a straight change or minor addition to the printed text.

RAW
where the rule was covered by RAW but was misleading or confusing or just needed reinforcing.

Clarification
where the rule was not covered specifically by RAW so required further explanation.

New Rule or an Amendment
where the FAQ has created something different to existing RAW, or added something new.

1. The Errata items

Ravenwing Strike Force

New Rule or an Amendment: Clears up a very poor oversight by Games Workshop.
Comment: Actually, widely predicted for a few months on the interwebs. At last you are now not limited to just using Sammael in a RWSF. And as such will probably make him redundant given the cheaper options now available.

Yes, that's it!

3. Summary

With a six-month old Codex chock with things that needed at least clarifying, what we got, though no doubt useful, barely covers what it should have. I'm not sure why this is the case really unless GW simply didn't know what the issues were.

So it might be worth a quick spin through a list of ongoing queries where RAW is confused, or special rules overlap, or stuff that really just needs a bit of a helping hand to explain and a sanity check on whether stuff was intentional or not.

4. Ongoing queries from the 7th Edition Dark Angels Codex

Note: there might more queries not listed here, or, you might not think some of these are worthy of inclusion because (to you) the answer is self-evident. No matter, let's run through what there is anyway. All queries in page order:

Sammael in Sableclaw (p101)

Sableclaw categorisation: Vehicle (Fast, Skimmer, Character).

Can Sammael as a character in Sableclaw accept a challenge? If so, what profile does he use as Vehicles are WS1 for the purposes of combat?

Company Master (p106)

There is no bike option listed in his wargear options. Is this intentional or an oversight?

Dark Angels Wargear List (p134)

Characters in power armour are able to purchase all the combi-weapons types available. But characters in Terminator armour can only choose from three with the combi-grav being excluded. Is this intentional or an oversight?

Deathwing Redemption Force (p141)

How do I deal with Land Raider and varient dedicated transports with the Deathwind Assault special rule? Obviously they can't be used. Is this intentional or an oversight?

Ravenwing Support squadron (p143)

The squadron description states that that the Darkshroud and the Land Speeders form one single unit.

The Darkshroud has the Shrouded USR. As per the rule, does this mean that the Darkshroud confers Shrouded onto the other models in its squadron? In other words, is the unit containing the Darkshround considered a "friendly unit within 6""?

Deathwing Strike Force (p158)

Restrictions say that all models must have the Deathwing special rule. Thus Azrael, Asmodai, Ezekiel, Interrogator-Chaplains, Librarians and Company Masters can be taken.

Yet the Summoned to War rule states that all models must deploy from Deep Strike reserves. So how do Azrael, Asmodai and Ezekiel deploy? Or are they excluded from this detachment?

Deathwing Strike Force (p158)

The Summoned to War rule states that all models must deploy from Deep Strike reserves. This means that Deathwing squads' dedicated transports can't be taken. Is this intentional or an oversight?

Seraphicus

Can we use Seraphicus (the limited edition Dark Angel Interrogator-Chaplain from the Dark Vengeance box set) in this edition? In which case, what is his profile and rules?

That rounds it off I think. We might get something further to cover some of those but I suspect not.


If you liked what you saw here, please share it!


blog comments powered by Disqus

+TECH REPORTS